The 2021 PCCCT’s  season has begun, with the running of the Burnie SportPower five kilometre Handicap at Wivenhoe.

With an eager turnout of sixty runners, members were very excited to get away for the first race of the season. With a limited form guide to pick the winner off, it was anyone’s race to win.

Runners enjoyed cool and sunny conditions on the out and back course to Fernglade.

Line Honours went to Narelle Jacobs, in her sixth race with the club. After running on and off over the last four years at parkrun and social group runs, she began training with the Everyday Lions group over the last 8 months. She credited her improvement to the interval training that she has been doing since joining that group.

Only twelve seconds behind her was Greg Malley, with fellow training stablemate Darlene Jacques rounding out the top three.

Other strong results were recorded by Dale Lancaster, Brendan Burr, and Josh Febey. These runners will surely pick up a win in 2021.

Fastest time for the men was recorded by Jason Felhberg, with Lyn Saint-John the fastest woman.

Earlier the nominated time winners were Mitchel Elphinstone, Eva Murell, Brian Paine, and Lucy van Rooyen.

Runners are reminded that this weeks Cradle Coast Sports and Events 7km handicap at Don will be held at 6pm Friday. Entries are required by 6pm Wednesday on the website.

Full results at


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.