Ulverstone: The Greg and Dianne Woodhouse Marathon 42.195km and Rod and Judith Priestly 5km

The PCCCT marathon is the longest-running continuously conducted marathon in Australia and the 2019 version will be held this Sunday. It is also unique in that it is a handicapped race.

The Greg and Dianne Woodhouse marathon runs from River Park, Ulverstone to Turners Beach and back twice and is a wonderful test of fitness and character.

Entries have closed, and a small, but quality field will start the event with almost every runner in with a chance of victory. The go-marker, Hobart runner Wendy Meadowcroft, will set off at 7:00am with Kyle Groenewege last to leave 1 hour 45 minutes later.

Second backmarker, Matthew Atkins, looks one of the strongest chances. He specialises at this distance and in the last two runnings of this event he has been second and fifth. He would be a very deserving winner.

Chris Talbot and Shane Hansen are others who can run all day while Karina Mason has been in great form and will have set herself for this event. She will have exactly an hour start on Atkins.

Teresa Seaman and Michelle Chopping are also coming from Hobart for the race so must be respected.

The Rod and Judith Priestly five kilometre handicap will be run at 10:30 for those not attempting the marathon. Entries for this will close at 10:00. The winner of this race could come from an in-form group of woman runners – Liz Murton, Lorraine Shepheard, Judy Ray and Michelle d’Monte.

 A nominated time event will be held at 9:45.

Marathon handicaps:

Wendy Meadowcroft               00:00
Karina Mason.                        37:00
Gerard Leary.                         37:00
Christopher Talbot.                 37.00
Kelly Baxter.                           43:00
Vicky Knapman.                     55.00
Shane Hanson.                   1:12:00
Paul Birch.                          1:12:00
Teresa Seaman.                 1:12:00
Michelle Chopping.            1:12:00
Ethan Butler.                      1: 20:00
Daniel Summers.               1: 20:00
Matthew Atkins.                 1:37:00                                                                                      Kyle Groenewege.             1:45:00


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.