Race 1 – Burnie Sports Power 5km handicap at Wivenhoe.

The 2018 season of the Professional Cross Country Club of Tasmania gets underway this Sunday with the Burnie Sports Power 5km handicap commencing at Wivenhoe Showgrounds. The course takes competitors to Fernglade Reserve and return.

Many runners have been training hard over the summer while others use it to have a decent break and rest their bodies.

New handicapper, Nick Young, will be hoping for many runners to cross the line in quick succession after the winner.

One runner who is fit and raring to go is Bryan Tuit. Tuit was unlucky not to win last year and will be looking forward to starting 2018 on the right foot.

Others who would not surprise are Owen Thomas and Mary-Lou Troughton while back-marker, Brad Taylor, is always a chance.

The race will begin at 10:00 with entries closing at 9:30. As registrations for the new season will need to be done also before this time, runners are urged to arrive early.

New members are very welcome. The minimum age to run in the handicapped races is fifteen, but nominated time events over shorter distances and open to all ages, are also held. Those intending to compete in these need to register by 9:05.

Race 1: Burnie Sports Power 5km at Wivenhoe

Evan Brett resized

The Professional Cross Country Club of Tasmania’s season got underway on Sunday with the running of the Burnie Sports Power 5 kilometre handicap at Wivenhoe.

The race was taken out by Evan Brett who was thrilled with his win, his second with the club. He was very fit having trained especially for the Cadbury half marathon on January, where he recorded a strong personal best.

The out and back course to Fernglade made use of the new footpath which provided great conditions underfoot.

A good field, considering the long weekend, gathered to hear the starter’s orders with the gun firing shortly after 10:00 am.

Virtual go-marker, Stuart Greenhill, led the runners away but was overtaken by Sally Atkinson after a couple of kilometres.

Backmarkers, Thomas Wilson, Brad Taylor, Bryan Tuit and Doug Hamerlok started making strong progress and all looked possible winners at different stages.

On the return trip it appeared that Matthew Rolls and Kyle Groenewege may fight out the finish – if they could catch Atkinson. However with a flying finish, it was Brett who was to take the lead within the shadows of the post, denying Atkinson, with Thomas Wilson finishing third.

Hamerlok took out fastest time for the men with Natasha Mapley fastest female.

Next week’s run, which starts at the Cooee Hall, will be on Saturday due to Run Devonport on Sunday.

race01corrected results