Race 12: Total Performance Sports/Physiotas 10 km City of Devonport


Ricky Brown_resized

Victory in the Total Performance Sports/Physiotas ten kilometre City of Devonport handicap is much sought after by members, but particularly those who reside in the town it is named for and where it is conducted.

That added an extra dimension of satisfaction for Devonport runner, Ricky Brown, when he took out the event from an excellent field of eighty-three.

Brown is pleased to be running the best he has in four years following a terrible run with injuries. He has recently been able to train consistently and so finally achieved the result he has been looking for, for some time.

He was made to work hard, however, by front marker Karina Mason whom he only caught with about two hundred metres to run. Mason was ruing another close defeat but her winning day must come soon.

Ken Troughton filled third place, showing a return to form. Other strong performances were recorded by Shane Hanson and Matthew Rolls while Neville Sweetman finished sixth indicating that the end of his long drought is in sight.

The Club ten kilometre championships were conducted based on fastest times in the race. For the women, Lyn Saint-John took it out from Natasha Mapley and Susan Moodie, while Brad Taylor won the men’s championship from Bryan Tuit and Matthew Cunningham.

Earlier the nominated time winners were Indra Taylor, Lachie Riley, Kasia Taylor and Kira Brown.

Race12 Placings Devonport 10km

Race12Fastest Devonport 10km

Devonport: Total Performance Sports/Physiotas “City of Devonport” 10km


The next “blue-ribbon” event in the PCCCT season is to be held this Sunday.

It is the Total Performance Sports/ Physiotas City of Devonport 10km handicap which starts at Devonport’s Bluff Beach and uses the foreshore path and tracks in the Don Reserve.

Wins in this event are much sought after due to its history and prestige.

No doubt runners who completed last week’s marathon will struggle until fully recovered from that gruelling distance, so the winner will likely come from among those who ran the shorter 5 kilometre event.

The race looks perfect for Stowport runner, Andrew Bates. Bates is one of the up-and-coming youngsters in the club and he has been showing great form.

In the last ten kilometre event three weeks ago he was tenth and followed up with a strong-finishing third last week. The distance will suit him perfectly, so provided he pulls up okay after playing football on Saturday he could start favourite.

If Don McCreadie is able to compete, he must be the main danger, as he is displaying his best form for years. However, his attendance at events is limited due to work.

There are many other chances, though. Aaron Robertson is running consistently and is always close to winning. Haydon Bishop and Stuart Wilson ran very well last week, while among the women, Ann Horton, Lorraine Shepherd and Amie Bramich look possible winners.

The event starts at 10:00 with nominations closing at 9:30. New runners are welcome.

 A nominated time event will be held at 9:05.


These links below download our Constitution (drafted in 1968 and with amendments of 1998, 2009, 2013 and 2017) and our Code of Conduct which every member is invited to sign off and agree to at the start of every season as part of the registration process. It's important that you're familiar with the Code as it outlines the expectations the club and other club members have of you. The documents are also available in the Information section of this site.