Greg small Lyn small

The longest race on the PCCCT’s season – the Greg and Dianne Woodhouse Marathon – was conducted in perfect weather conditions on Sunday.

The classic distance is a true test of both fitness and determination.

Devonport runner, Greg Smith, one of the top fancies, took out the event in great fashion. Smith, who had previously won the event in 2009, had a comfortable margin at the finish form Matthew Atkins and Dallas van Rooyen, both of whom were running their first marathons.

Smith has also produced fastest time in eight club marathons but hadn’t run one since 2012.

Top local runner, Brian Lyons had the fastest time with an excellent run in 2:40:18, using the event as training for the Chicago marathon in October. Fastest female was Coleen Denne.

The 5 kilometre Tyreright handicap, also run on Sunday, was taken out in great fashion by Penguin runner Lyn Saint-John, who credited her win to recent training with her teenage children.

Saint-John also had the fastest time for a female with overall fastest recorded by Thomas Murton.

Nominated time winners were Brian Paine, Lachie Riley, Tia Brown and Brian Paine

Race 8 2017 Placings – Marathon

Race 8 2017 Fastest to Slowest – Marathon

Race 8a 2017 Placings – Ulverstone

Race 8a 2017 Fastest to Slowest – Ulverstone

1 Comment

Anonymous · August 9, 2019 at 4:11 PM


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.