Lovely sunny weather conditions greeted fifty starters on Sunday for Race 9 of the PCCCT – Running Club season.

The Physiotas “City of Devonport” 10km Handicap was run in conjunction with the Molly Malones 10km Women’s Championship and the UTAS Athletic Club Men’s Championship, as a sealed handicap, mass start event. The race started at Bluff Beach Devonport and took competitors on tracks in the Don Reserve.

Following the application of the handicaps to the recorded times, Burnie runner Tony Abel was revealed as the victor. This was Abel’s second victory with the Club in his second year back after a long hiatus but he had recorded six victories in the seventies and eighties including a victory in the Club marathon.

While his marathon running days may be over, he ran strongly to take out the event from Pat McMahon, Jason Scott, Steve Tammens and Rhian Miles. He had run second in this event last year so the course clearly suits him

The Men’s Championship was an exciting race with Devonport runners Hayden Bishop and Andrew Winkler having a great tussle for almost the full ten kilometres. Bishop edged ahead in the final stages to take the victory recording 34:43 with Liam Williams, having his first run with the Club, in third.

The Women’s Championship was taken out by the ever-green Lyn Saint-John, in a time of 40:29, ahead of Rhian Miles and Isabelle Sharman.

In the earlier nominated time event the winners were Brian Paine, Sienna Bramich and Malcolm Nutting.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.