Danielle small

The Sea Lyons Swim School six kilometre handicap was the final race for the 2019 season and was run on an out-and-back course from West Park, Burnie, in fine but windy conditions.

Natalie Luttrell led the field away with Dale Lancaster in hot pursuit. By the turn Lancaster led clearly and was to hold the lead until entering the final kilometre when overtaken by Danielle Newall who was fighting hard to hold off two of the race favourites in Josh Febey and Jason Scott.

Shearwater runner, Newall, managed to hold on to take victory by just 16 seconds from Febey with Scott 6 seconds astern in third ahead of Nick Young and one of the backmarkers, Shaun Batten.

Newall was thrilled to get a win in her first season of competition. Formerly an infrequent runner, joining the Club has inspired her to train regularly, rising at 5:30am to hit the road before work. This has led to constant improvement as the season progressed, culminating in today’s victory. She is now set on achieving good times in the Burnie Ten and the Cadbury half-marathon in January.

Fastest male and female were Thomas Murton and Lyn Saint-John respectively.

The nominated time winners were Jemima McLaren, Ashley Fehlberg, Hannah Elphinstone and Chloe Bates.

Following the event, the Club Champion awards were presented to Thomas Murton and Amie Bramich with the consistency title going to Josh Febey, ahead of Vicki Knapman and Karina Mason.

Race27 Burnie Sea Lyons LinePosition 6km

Race27 Burnie Sea Lyons Fastest 6km


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.