Michelle small

Last year morning rain affected numbers for the Anvers Confectionery ten kilometre handicap at Railton. By contrast, this year a beautiful clear day greeted competitors as they arrived in Pioneer Park so that a good size field assembled for the start.

The course takes runners on back streets and through a bush track before heading up the tough Newbed Road hill and continuing to complete a circuit.

Race favourite, Devonport runner, Michelle D’Monte, broke through for a well-deserved win after two recent seconds. She did it in style, winning by more than a minute, reward for the dedication to her training she has shown in recent months after a period when busy with family commitments.

Her last win was a five kilometre race at Devonport three years ago and this was her fourth win overall after commencing with the club in 2009.

Behind D’Monte the race was much closer with ten runners finishing within forty-eight seconds. Terry Watson continued his promising form to take second ahead of Mary-Lou Troughton. Mark Saint-John, who finished fourth, impressed with a strong return to form.

Others to catch the eye included the consistent Josh Febey, Andrew Hay and Russell Horton.

Fastest female was Amie Bramich (41:57) with Evan Brett, who finished seventh in the race, fastest male (35:46).

The nominated time winners were Mackenzie Troughton, Will van Rooyen and Lucy van Rooyen.

Race20 RailtonLinePosition10km

Race20 RailtonFastest10km


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.