Allan BakesresizedSpook Life MembershipresizedKarina consistency resized

The Sea Lyons Swim School six kilometre handicap was the final race for the 2018 season and was run on an out-and-back course from West Park, Burnie, in fine but windy conditions.

Off a front mark, Ros Hendriks led clearly at the half-way turn from Darlene Jacques and Barry Ling and maintained her lead until overtaken by Allan Bakes, with a kilometre to run.

Bakes, in turn, was being pursued by the race favourite, Arnie Elphinstone, who was running very strongly and looked the likely winner.

However, Bakes was able to use the leg speed he trains for to sprint strongly over the last two hundred metres and hang on for the win. He only took up running ten years ago at the age of sixty-five, and this was his fourth win with the Club – an impressive effort.

Rod Viney was third with Hendriks hanging on for fourth in front of Nick Young.

Fastest male and female were Jono Price and Lyn Saint-John respectively.

The nominated time winners were Chloe Bates, Brain Paine, Lucy van Rooyen and Dominic Troughton.

Following the event, the Club Champion awards were presented to Brad Taylor and Lyn Saint John with the consistency title going to Karina Mason, who was the first female to win this in the Club’s fifty-two year history.

Life membership was given to Club treasurer, Gerard Leary with John Lucas, Rod Viney and Rick Ferguson receiving Club service awards.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.