Stewart wins last race of season

Burnie runner Tony Stewart has stormed home to convincingly claim the final race of the Professional Cross Country Club of Tasmania’s Sea-Lyons Swim School 6km handicap at Burnie on Sunday.

In his first year with the club it was Stewart’s second PCCCT win after taking victory in the Fernglade last month.

IMG_4235Stewart overtook go-marker John Lucas before the halfway turn but only managed to reign in race leader Natalie Lutrell with about 700 metres left to race.

The Sea-Lyons 6km follows an flat and easy out-and-back course starting at the Burnie Surf Club and turning near the old Cooee saleyards.

Kelly Baxter was second just catching Mary-Lou Troughton in the final sprint along the boardwalk to the line while Owen Thomas finished fourth and Cooee’s Josh Febey rounded out the top five with his best performance of the season.

Evan Brett collected fastest time honours from Kyle Groenewege and Hayden Bishop with Ben Saint-John, at only 15 years-of-age the youngest competitor, was fifth fastest overall. Lyn Saint-John managed to just edge out Danielle Mitchell for fastest female.

At the following presentations Brad Taylor and Judy Ray were announced as club champions of 2017 while Hayden Bishop and Greg Smith both tied for the Consistency award.

Female Club Champion Update. A subsequent review of the points revealed that Lyn Saint-John was actually the 2017 female club champion and Judy Ray runner-up. Both competitors were notified of the change.

DOWNLOAD Sea-Lyons Race Report

DOWNLOAD Sea-Lyons Fastest to SlowestIMAG1039

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.